Is there such this as a perfect person?

fawndango

No one is perfect, and we all know that. But I think you can find some who is perfect for yourself no matter what their flaws are.

For example, I think my boyfriend is my soulmate. We understand each other on a level we've never had with other people, after a far shorter amount of time than either of us expected. Neither of us is perfect - I have jealousy issues and I'm a bad driver, he has financial issues and is a smoker - but the nice thing about our relationship is that those things don't get in the way like they would if we were different people.

'Perfect" I think is someone you can love including their flaws, not in spite of. And since we all have flaws, all you can expect from a relationship is that eventually you will meet someone who loves you as much as you love them, no matter what your respective differences.

Does that mean that we have the same flaws?

No, it means that the flaws balance each other out.

While he is a pessimist, I am an optimist.

He is more of a spender, and I am a saver.

He isn't very health conscious, while I am.

We keep each other in check and let one another have some fun from time to time by going against our flaws.

I can't tell you how many times he's convinced me to buy something that I wanted, but didn't need, and how much happier I was that I allowed myself to follow his advice rather than habitually deny myself.

• 1 month later...

There is no such thing as a perfect person. The goal is to look for a person whose "perfectness/qualities" complete your "incompleteness/problem areas" and vice-versa. Also its very important to understand that you have to be "at peace" with his inadequacies. I wasn't in both my past relationships so I decided to leave instead of harboring negative feelings about them in my heart.