I'm thinking of moving out of my current apartment

grymoire

This thread is related to this:

I am trying to save money and think that one of the best ways would be to move out of my current apartment. I live in the Silicon Valley and am currently paying a lot for my apartment. Also the management is NOT helpful at all. I have been asking them to fix my heater unit for the whole of 2009 and they have still not fixed it yet. I am not sure if there is a way to complain about them.

In any case, I went around looking for other apartments in the area and I figured out that on an average if I decide to move I will be saving $300 per month. I feel that is a lot of money.. I can use it to invest in stocks, or pay off my debts, or simply put it in savings. The other apartments are not as beautiful as the current one but I get to save some money and don't have to deal with the management that does not want to help its tenants.

What do you guys think?

Does the new place you want to live at, have comparable amenities to your old place? If not, is it something tolerable.

Also, is it close to your job? Finding a place that is cheaper but further away could also be detrimental to your wallet (spending more on gas and wear and tear on your car).

Thanks Ren.

Yes, the apartment that I checked out today is practically the same like the current one in terms of area. But it is not close to downtown and is not as beautiful as the current place I live in. My current apartment is walking distance from the city's famous downtown area and hence very expensive. But I thought I can always drive down to the downtown area whenever I want to.

Do you go downtown a lot and utilize the entertainment down there? If so, then maybe moving away from where you are used to hanging out, could be detrimental to your social life.

If you don't mind living away from downtown (the center of things), moving might be the best thing since you will still be able to go downtown and save money with rent.