Looking for work

On July 17 I quit my job at the YMCA. I had worked there for more than three years. I worked in the school age child care area and also the fitness center. I have an Associate''s Degree in Technical Communication, but I only have months experience as an Intern, and finding work in that field seems difficult.

On the 23rd applied for another fitness attendant position at the Rec center in a nearby city. I called them and left a message for the guy the following Sunday to make sure he got my app and whatnot. I figure it would be a decent part time job in a field I already have experience in. He called me back last Monday and said he would have the city fax over my app to him. I told him I could work basically any hours and he seemed interested. Is it normal for a place like this not to have called back by now? I'm getting antsy but I don't want to call them again. I remember the Y took like a month to hire me for some reason but I don't know if I can last that long here!

Look elsewhere in the meantime, don't just sit waiting for this guy.

You should call him too, he's had a full week and theres nowt wrong with being eager.

Well today I actually contacted the executive director via email. What happened was I was on the city's site today trying to make sure the apps had my phone number and e-mail because I think they are not in my resume. I know they did but U was trying to double check. What happened is I was trying to see a blank app and accidentally applied for another job at the rec center. I sent him an e-mail and told him I was sorry to bother him but I would appreciate it if the fitness director disregarded my app for the second position because I sent it by accident. I said I would appreciate it if the fitness director would call me with any farther question etc.