Girlfriend broke up with me but still clings on

jasav1

Newbie here! Looking for some much needed advice, away from my friends and family.

I have been going out with my ex girlfriend for 3 and a half years now. We broke up just over a month ago but in this time we have pretty much still been doing things we did as a couple, kissing, snuggling, watching movies, going out for dinner.

However, I'm desperate to get her back and have been telling her that her actions are speaking much louder than her words. Why is she being so stubborn when she clearly still has big feelings for me? She said that this is something she needs to do to sort her head out. She rang me a few days ago in the early hours, completely sobbing. She is not one to cry and this shocked me. I saw her getting into a car of another guy a few days before, someone she has liked from afar for a while (physically) but she told me he doesn't mean anything to her and she is just confused right now. She said she does this too often, she messes up her life every few years. I know she hasn't left me for this other guy, she would be honest with me about him. In fact, everything she has told me about him so far points to the fact that he isn't her type at all. She said she just wants more friends in that way. She didn't just go out with him either, she was around other people on her university course.

I feel that she is doing this because I'm her first guy in every sense, as a friend and a boyfriend. We are both 22 and met when we were 18. She hasn't had any past experience with guys and I'm all she knows. Her parents were very similar - met at uni - got married, but subsequently ended up getting divorced. I think she may feel that will happen to her.