suddenly in an LDR -- and suddenly full of worries

Hello, all. I'm new to this whole LDR thing and have some...worries, which I'm sure it typical. Also, I apologize in advance; this is going to be long-winded.

First, the story of how this has come to be. Context is everything (so they say). My boyfriend and I have been together for a year and two months. For the majority of that year and two months, we lived a little under an hour apart and so saw one another regularly. I'd typically spend the entirety of my weekends at his place.

Now, some brief background information: he is a recovering alcoholic who sobered up a little over a year before we met; he didn't finish college, largely because of his burgeoning alcoholism; and he was medically discharged from the Navy due to a chronic disease that rendered him undeployable. He was discharged from the Navy in January of this year. His plan was to work his way up to becoming a paramedic, and then to eventually finish school. Unfortunately, entry-level positions in the medical field don't pay very well, so he's had some serious financial woes over the past six months. It doesn't help that the VA takes forever to process people and, as such, has yet to send him a single pension or disability (re: chronic disease) check.