So tempted to contact my ex!

Hi, i'm new to ena and posted my first thread yesterday. Without going into it all again, my girlfriend of three and a half years broke up with me 5 months ago 'cos she wants to be by herself and concentrate on her career without having a boyfriend. We're still really close and are on good terms as our relationship was very loving.

I'm still trying to withdraw myself from my ex-girlfriend by not contacting her. Although if she contacts me i will reply as i want us to stay on good terms as we had a wonderful relationship.

I'm just so tempted all the time to text her or call her and tell her i miss her and how much i want her back!! ](*,)

Has anyone got any ideas or tips, who have been through it/or going through it. I really need to get over this hurdle!!

Any helpful words would go along way.

Thanks.

You need to let go and move on. You need to find something constructive to do to occupy your time. Go on… get out there and make friends, meet women, socialize… There’s no since on dwelling on the past. It’s over, it’s gone. Look forward to the future.

The whole problem is finding the tools to help us move on. Being told to move on may remind us of the goal, but if we could just Stop and Let Go, there would probably not be an eNotAlone forum. Who would need it?

The things I am learning (way too slowly!!!) are that there are skills we can learn for dealing with regulating these emotions. If you go on the internet and search for something like

skills cope break up

or other such words, you will probably find something. And don't forget all the great articles right here on enotalone.

It is so hard. I am doing this hard work right now, too.

You are indeed not alone.

I couldn't agree more nothanks. It's one thing knowing what i should do/have to do in order to heal, but it is quite another actually doing it!