How Do You Deal With A Clingy Friend?

-Jade-

Hello!

I've been having problems with a friend being clingy and I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice?

I'll start off explaining our situation: I'm an Animation student entering my second year in September. During my first year I made an acquaintance with a girl from the B group of our year(Some classes are split into groups depending on the number of students, I'm in the A group). Let's call this girl Mary.

Well I would bump into Mary sometimes in the hallways and we'd have friendly chats, and she's one of those quirky social kind of nerds(Much like myself kind of) and we get on really well by talking about games and such. Sometimes when I'm on my way to a class she would almost corner me to talk but I managed to shake her off as I'm in a rush.

I really like this girl, don't get me wrong, she's really nice and friendly. Some people in my class know her from the previous year as they did a portfolio preparation course together(I never did that year) and I heard them make out that she's really annoying and make fun of her fandom(She's an avid Pokémon fan, which isn't a big deal, I'm very passionate about anime and games). I ignored their b*tching because I don't particularly like a lot of people in my class because they are pretentious and feckless and seem to care more about their clothes and cheap tattoos more than animation. I generally have a high tolerance with some people, and she didn't seem to bother me.

I even invited Mary to a party myself and Roomie had and she was fun to have around.