Need opinions

I'm 24 years old, I have a degree in Animal Science, and I'm working at a department store...is that really bad?

On one hand I think it's a really good thing for me right now. It's a very low stress job and very accomodating. I've decided to tackle life without anti-depressants, and I told myself I'd lose weight before my birthday, which comes with its own stresses.

However, I feel like others look down on me, because I'm working at a department store.

I just wonder if that's a really bad thing in the scheme of things.

I certainly don't plan on working there forever.

One of my co-workers told me I was crazy for working there when I have degree. Another asked me why I don't use my degree. And a family friend I hadn't seen in ages seemed displeased.

So, it kind of makes me wonder if I'm doing something really wrong.

I'm trying to figure out exactly what I want to do with my life right now, and I'm starting to feel bad about my situation.

I feel good going to work everyday, personally. But seeing others negative reactions is making me wonder if something is wrong with me.

It doesn't matter what people think. What matters is what YOU think. Remember, you're the only person that has to live with you for the rest of your life. No one else. You do what makes you happy, because they don't know what's best for you. Only you can know that.

when i graduated with a masters degree in biology, i spent two months working at a factory, and then four months grading achievement tests.

always keep your eye open for something in your field, but don't feel bad about working any job you need to work to get by.

you're where you are right now because that's where your life is. try not to second guess it, and stay open to opportunity.