Finally going to mix work and pleasure again...I think

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this board, but I've been trolling around for a while. I just need some advice before I cross a line I told myself I never would...so I guess a little background would be in order before I get into my problem/question.

Quite a few years ago I was working at my first real job, which was stocking shelves at the local Safeway. I worked there for about 1.5 years and had gone out with one of the girls there. Things didn't work out but we remained friends of a sort. Then this new girl started and I had a big crush on her. We talked and had fun at work, and then one day I asked her if she wanted to go for coffee. She accepted and I waited a week for her to call me (I didn't want to seem overly aggressive so I gave her my number). Week went by and no call and when I saw her at work I asked her what was up and why she hadn't called. She proceeded to tell me that her and her boyfriend had been fighting and thats why she had accepted my offer (??). I said that was OK and told her that we could go out just as friends, nothing serious and asked her to call me again.

Another week goes by and I get called into my managers office. Apparently I am making this girl uncomfortable and she wants me to stop asking her out. I get brought up on sexual harrasment (no criminal charges or anything were laid) and needless to say from that point on I swore to myself that I would never mix work with pleasure again.

Fast forward to 5 years down the road. I am at my current job and have met a lot of nice girls here. Of course, I've never gone any farther than being work friends with them as I've told myself time and time again that no matter how tempting, I won't cross that line between work and pleasure.