On the verge of quitting an internship

meme89

Right now I am contemplating on whether or not I should quit an internship I've been attending for 2 months. It lasts for 3 months, but I just can't stay a month longer. No matter how hard I try, I don't feel comfortable around the employers. It always seems like they underestimate my abilities or find a reason for me to look bad. In the beginning, I had a rough time adjusting to the environment and made usual errors as a novice, but after two months they still treat me like I'm incompetent. There is one employer who I know despises me and often singles me out for any little thing I do wrong. If another intern does something wrong, she politely explains to them the problem, but with me, it is the opposite. She gets highly frustrated and catches an attitude. This leaves me to feel that my work is unappreciated and I do not belong there. I am trying my hardest to apply for permanent jobs, so I can leave as soon as possible, but it is not promising. I know I have a month left, but I don't know if I can use this experience as a reference since it seems like I am not doing so well. Should I quit or stick it through?

If you won't be able to use them for a reference, and if it won't reflect badly on you with future potential employers, it might be ok to leave. I would feel like it myself, but I don't know the situation and if it would matter. Do you have any idea why they're singling you out? Do you think it's anything you're doing? Has it happened before anywhere else? If it's something about you it'd be best to figure it out so it doesn't keep happening.

I don't know, since I'm not in your situation. I'd try to stick it out, but I don't really know how bad it is for you, you know? I quit an internship once because they want me to do all kinds of car travel, plus I had the flu and I didn't have enough sick days to get over it. I still feel guilty about doing that and it was months ago.