Any help would be amazing

cocacolo

Hi, I am very new to this so please bare with me as I get used to the website Any help would be so greatly appreciated

So...

I was in a relationship for nearly 1.5 years with a girl I love more than anything in the world, I would do anything for her. We had an amazing time together and being my first real girlfriend it was a perfect first step into adult relationships.

A few days ago she came over and told me she wanted to break up. It felt like I had been hit by a train, had absolutely no idea and she didn't show any signs that there were problems. I was in so much shock that I asked her to leave and we would talk later.

Yesterday we had a really in depth conversation about why she wanted to break up. She said she wanted to try something new (ie. being single) and that she didn't feel the same way she did before. She also wanted to see new things, meet new people and do things that otherwise she would have felt guilty about being with me. She said it was nothing to do with me and that she still loved me just not in a relationship way.

This is the confusing part. She says she still wants to be friends, with the relationship being the same way it was without the intimate stuff and substituting 'relationship' dates for more casual things like lunch or studying etc. I am still thinking through this but I don't know if at this point I can do it. I have tried asking her for more time to try and fix our relationship but she is set on being single. A decision which I have respected.

After the talk we went to lunch and since then have agreed to go to dinner before she goes away, kind of a goodbye dinner. I am thinking of using the time she goes away as well as some after, to implement NC to try and get over her as best I can but at the moment I am dreading not having her in my life as she was my rock that i could say anything to.