Difficult Episodes of My Life - How do I overcome them?

troytoburn

Hey everyone,

I'm sad to say that the first couple of years of marriage to my husband have also been the same two years when a lot of difficult problems in my life have befallen me. I'm here mostly for advice... and commiseration could also be cool, too.

I used to think I had a very good sense of myself... but lately, I feel like I don't know myself at all. I think this is my fundamental problems right now... but let me back up and explain.

Back in 2010, I graduated teacher's college and entered a job market more flooded than I was willing to acknowledge. I was always a top student, so I thought my resume would help me navigate turgid waters, but it was still incredibly difficult. I ended up in a job at a private school that was a nightmarish experience. I can say this, now, looking back, as I am employed with a public board now, two years later. My principal was abusive towards me; she attacked my character continuously, made random appearances in my classes and I felt like an outcast at the school, which was predominantly of one religious and cultural denomination that I was not a part of. My relationship with my mother, I realized, was characterizing how I dealt with work relationships; she was always aggressive, and I was always quiet... so those dynamics played out in my work life. That same year, I witnessed my grandfather experience a stroke, as well as his mental decline thereafter. My brother -- the person to whom I've always been the closest to -- went to live several hours away for school. So... besides having my then-fiance with me, it was the most lonely time of my life.