Think it's time to start looking for a new job... Not sure where to start...

MattW

I've only had one job my entire life, working part time at a retail store, mostly cashiering, occasionally putting out stock and working on the floor as a sales associate. I'm not a fan of the whole retail environment, and I'm beyond tired of it, after five years of doing it. I've been taking college classes this entire time, as well, but I've bounced around with majors a bit and have yet to actually earn a degree. I started out working towards a computer-related degree, but after a couple years of classes, it just wasn't meshing with me.

I'm currently majoring in business, and I'm on track to get an associates degree this year, then I plan to do a degree completion program to get a bachelors. I'm not particularly interested in the "business world", or having a particularly "corporate" kind of job, but I just want to be done with school, and business seems general enough to me to be useful in any kind of career.

For a while, now, I've had a difficult time deciding what I actually want to do with my life, career-wise. Recently, I've discovered that I have an interest in audio/ video editing and that sort of thing. At the moment, it's just something I play around with, a "hobby" of sorts, so I have nothing to actually show from it. But I think I'd be happy if I could make a career out of it somehow. There's actually a specific company I "dream" of working for one day, but I'd probably need to get some experience under my belt before they'd even give me a look (not to mention, I'd have to make a pretty big move to work there; I'm in Cleveland, Ohio, and said company operates in Texas...).