any advice for someone learning C++?

I bought myself a C++ primer book to teach my self. Does anyone have any tips and pointers on a complete newbie?

I have downloaded mingw, cygwin, microsoft visual C++ (express edition), and notepad C++.

As for now, the book is only teaching how to write the code and an understanding what each code primarily does. Any tips of speeding up the process? Ultimately, I would like to become a software engineer, but I have much to learn. I want to learn how to start creating my own programs/applications and hope I can pick up an internship this winter. Any advice?

Coding is just one small part of being a software engineer. To get a job, you'll need a degree and going to school will provide you with all the knowledge you need in addition to the coding skills, which are the easy part. I definitely suggest school.

Im already attending school and will be applying this year to transfer to a university. Ive just enrolled in a C++ class and a JAVA class and my major will be computer engineering. Im on differential equations and linear algebra and will be completing all of my physics major prep courses by spring. I believe all I have left are the upper division classes in a university that will include discrete mathematics and upper division computational courses.

I created this thread to find things I can do for the mean time before I transfer so I can be better prepared and hope to find internships in the interim to gain as much experience as I can.

Im already attending school and will be applying this year to transfer to a university. Ive just enrolled in a C++ class and a JAVA class and my major will be computer engineering. Im on differential equations and linear algebra and will be completing all of my physics major prep courses by spring. I believe all I have left are the upper division classes in a university that will include discrete mathematics and upper division computational courses.