Is this a game we've made?

Hey, this is my first time so go easy on me if I mess this up.

My girlfriend and I of 3 years split up about 2 months ago and I played the fool like a fool. But I cought it in time. (I think)

When we first started seeing each other I told her I wasn't ready (I had just got out of a 4 year rlationship) She said she didn't care, she wanted to lick my wounds. So I let her, it was a win win opp, she wanted me and I wasn't alone. After a few months I started to fall for her, but still had thoughts of my ex. Over time my heart turned to her (the new girl). But I think it was starting to be too late.

She said she wanted us to be friends and start again with my heart and mind clear. (so I thought yeah right, just a nice way to say good bye) I told her it wasn't a good Idea to see each other with me still feeling the way I did. Holding on to the past messed up our relationship, I dont want to do that to any one again. She then startrd to cry and say how she didn't want me to forget her or push her out of my heart. She thinks if we hang out as friends and slowly dated there might still be a chance for us. But right now she doesn't know what she wants. She said she didn't want to be with anyone and not to think theres someone else.

But at this point I dont know what to think.

I told her I'd think it over and see about the friend thing. I still came to the same conclusion, no contact is the only way to have a honest new start. I left her a message this time tho so her tears could not turn my thoughts.