Bad Relationship with Boss/Advisor: could use a little advice and support!

Hi, ENA~

This is my first time in the career forum; I've usually utilized/ participated in the relationship part of this site. I've enjoyed and benefitted from this community.

I have a professional problem, and I think I know the solution ... but I could sure use some input and support. My boss (PhD advisor) is one of those people who crosses boundaries and tries to get his underlings to give away their rights. People don't take their allotted vacation time, grad students don't take advantage of school-wide educational opportunities, etc, because my boss bullies them into giving those things up in favor of more time working for him. We all live with his strange dichotomous managing style: he's absent for long periods of time and probably takes about 8 weeks of vacation a year, but when he is around, he is a tyrant, breathing down everyone's neck and insisting they work nights and weekends.

I received an e-mail from him today (which I've opted to "forget" until Monday) in which he attempts to bully me out of a couple of my rights: the right to attend a fellowship meeting that is required by my program-approved internship and the right to my remaining vacation days for 2011.

So, the solution is to assert boundaries professionally, right? I should say something like, "The fellowship meeting is obligatory for the program, so I will need to be in attendance. With regard to my vacation, I still have one week of vacation time left and I will use four days of that time for this trip." Or something along those lines?

Anyone here ever dealt with a boundary-pusher like this? It's a forgone conclusion that I will be severing ties when I graduate, but it is really exhausting and stressful while I am still under his thumb.

Thanks,

pk