Supervisor went against my will again -- say something or let it slide (again)?

zccr3279

I have a major dilemma, so I'll try and make this as brief as possible:

• I've been with this company for 2.5 years (to date).
  • By degree, I'm a civil engineer w/concentration in bridges. but I got hired as a software programmer for bridge (civil engineer) software out of school. It's definitely not typical for engineers to be programmers -- more like a rarity.
  • I did programming for about 10 months after my hire date.
  • I was then reassigned (temporarily) to bridge inspection work to fill a void for a project. The bridge inspection work ended up lasting about 11 months with a few random weeks of programming until my yearly review.
  • During my Feb 2011 yearly review, I explained that I really liked bridge inspection (not to mention understood it very well) and wanted to stay in that field, instead of programming. Since I was hired as a programmer, I didn't say that I "hated" programming (though I did), but just said I "preferred" inspection work.
  • My supervisor said "ok" (to my surprise) and officially transferred me to inspection work.

Now, here comes the bad parts...

• Immediately after my official transfer, I was told that I had some light programming to do (Feb 2011). I figured fine (since I just dropped a bomb on them) and happily did the week's worth of programming (assuming that it would be my last). Afterward, I continued with inspection work -- we were way behind on our progress.
  • A month later (Mar 2011), they told me that there was more programming (1.5 weeks worth) that needed completed. This time, I wasn't so happy but still put on a smile and gave them no problems. It was extremely frustrating work and I was very stressed those ~2 weeks.
  • I continued working on bridge inspection stuff for the next 9 months (and getting much better at it...even leading the team and managing the projects).