I am having a hard time getting into school this semester

Right here! I end up doing last minute and trying to shove everything. I been overly stressed this semester too though. Still no excuses. I'm going to fall behind if I don't somehow find a way to force myself to work on my school work. I did find going to a coffee shop though helps concentrate a bit, being at home is making me useless.

Yeah, I find the beginning of the school year tough. It's just such a shock to the system after a long and blissful summer! I actually think this is fairly common. I'm a teacher now, and all of my colleagues agree that the beginning of the year has hit them like a ton of bricks, and that at time it's been hard to get in the groove.

I find it helps to:

- find a place to study that suits your style. Some people like total silence - I am more the coffee shop or group of friends type. I need some noise and distraction, if it's too quiet my mind wanders a lot more

- space out your study hours throughout the week. Don't tell yourself you'll spend the whole day saturday working.

- if you have "free periods" during the day, between classes, buckle down and get work done then. You're already in study mode, it's short time periods so it can be easier to get yourself to really focus for just 45 minutes or whatever. If you can get work out of the way during the day it really helps. You'll be bringing home a much smaller and more manageable load instead of a mountain of work.

- plan fun things in your week that you can look forward to, so you don't feel like you're chained to your studies.

- some people say to get the hardest things out of the way first. I've always found I like to start with the easy stuff, it gets me feeling good about myself and helps me get in the zone and on a roll

- find a study group if applicable, holds you accountable to others and can be more fun and motivating

- watch your sleeping habits, diet, exercise