cant seem to get over my ex!

So my ex dumped me around 5 months ago. We dated for 1 year and half. The biggest problem I am dealing with is regret and the what ifs. She is a lovely girl and has a heart of gold. treated me like royalty. Now dont get me wrong, I treated her well too however looking back now I should of done more. I was there for her when she needed me, went out alot, very affectionate with each other romance could of been a little better but still wasnt bad. I was her first but not the same for me.

I guess the last month or so we started to grow apart which i AM blaming myself for. The biggest regret I have is her birthday. I took her out to a nice restaurant a gave her a sweet card teeling her how much i love her. But thats it, for some reason I feel i should of got her a gift but i didnt, AND ITS KILLING ME!! I am a full time student so money is really tight.

I am a stubborn person, and looking back i think we had some serious communication problems, but i just miss her so much. a week after the break up she came to my house to pick up her things,( when she intially broke it off i cried, but let her know i respect her decision and that she is an amazing girl!) she told me she slept with someone during that time. That crushed me even though we were split up, I just dont no why she told me, she said its in case we get back together but i no that was a lie.

Any ways, I just want this pain and ainguish to go away! I am really down sometimes and am depressed, I need help!

Thank you for any replies