How much to charge a family member

Firiel

Okay, so my uncle recently asked me to edit a book of his and offered to compensate me for my time. I looked up professional editing rates, and they are WAY more than I want to charge someone considering I am not a professional editor (yet!). The rates were something like 2-3 cents per word which would run up $720 for this manuscript (36,000 words). Yikes.

I want to give my uncle a good deal, but I also don't want to be making what ends up being $2 an hour. I think it will end up taking me sometime between 10 and 20 hours to do a thorough edit of the book, but again... I'm not sure. I was thinking of charging either between $75 and $100 or even just saying that I didn't know how long it would take, and I'd get back to him on compensation after I start the process. What do you all think?

Well, I would have a meeting of the minds about expectations. Is he looking for a proofreader who will catch spelling errors, highlight where things are unclear in a sentence, or an editor who will do that but also suggest different choices in town, the elimination of chapters, etc. I think that you should be clear that you offering him PROOFREADING skills. Editing skills are something a family member should not offer because people are too emotionally connected to their work and it could cause tension. Also, an editor is looking to make the book saleable and will mercielessly dissect it. I always recommend people handing stuff like that off to a colleague

To me, I wouldn't charge him a dime for proofreading. Just ask he lists you as the proofreader and recommends you to others, etc., and maybe he has to take you out to dinner, or something or other. Or fix your car or whatever your uncle is good at aside from writing. Or write resumes and stuff for you. So you get a reward and experience.