Need Some Advice

friendlyguy

Hi all, my ex broke up with me after a 16y relationship, we have 4 children.

I didn't see it coming at all. Nothing major happened. She just felt i didn't pull my weight the last 2 years. Looking back i can't blame her.

But she never adressed it.

My first reaction was there had to be someone else. You do not break up like that, i mean no warning, no nothing.

In fact a week before we broke up she said she wanted to grow old with me.

6 months earlier my sister broke up and her actual words were "we will never do this will we, please never leave me".

And now she breaks up just like that. I asked to see marriage counceling but she wouldn't dream of it. she doesn't love me anymore ,i've been lying to myself for the last 2 years is what she says.

She moved out imidiatly with a friend and found an apartment a week ago.

It's been 25 day's now and i feel like im loosing my mind.

i don't understand how you can throw away a marriage like that, we actualy had a gr8 marriage the previous 14 years.

btw there is noone else.

i would love to try and NOT contact her. but can't because of the kids.

Any advice?

Thx for your time and sry for my poor English

Sounds like you did all that you could do. I would suggest seeing a lawyer to make sure your financial interests are protected. The only thing you can do is accept that it is over. If you push to reconcile it will only push her away more. You need to leave her be...maybe some time apart will do both of you some good and you will both be able to re-think what happened in the last two years. If she didn't feel you were pulling your weight, perhaps you need to think about it. Often people say things but the other person does not take it seriously so they don't pay attention. Think back and perhaps you may realize that there were times when she was expressing her dissatisfaction but you weren't paying attention because you thought everything was fine. Now is the time to really reflect.