OK. I'll try to keep this as short as possible. I'm confused over whether my best friend is gay or not. He and I have known each other for about 12 years now and we have always had a weird chemistry. In high school, we experimented a few times in a sexual manner but both of us insisted we were straight. The experimentation went on for about 3 years until I graduated and he had one more year of high school left.

About 2 weeks ago, I mustered up the balls to tell him I have feelings for him. The conversation came forth because we always usually talk about travelling to different parts of the world or living in other continents and just doing us but there's never a mention of either of us having women in our lives. So we were talking about what was going to happen in 10 years. He mentioned that he wants to have a wife and kids and yaddiyadda. I told him that I would want the same thing; but how would our friendship survive that especially because we're so dependent on each other. He brushed it off and said that we'd make it work. I figured this was about a good a time as any to say something so I told him that I have feelings for him. I started by saying "this would be alot easier if you were a chick." and he agreed with me. He went on to say something extremely perverted about what would happen if I were a chick but the bottom line is that we would be together if we were of the opposite sex. I told him that I wouldn't mind it being that way the way it is now. He understood what I meant and told me that he doesn't feel that way and that he supports any lifestyle I choose to lead. I felt stupid but I never would have said anything had I not received so many messages from him.