I made a huge mess of my finances. Trying to figure out a way to make it better somehow.

I'd give anything to go back years ago and not make the bad decisions I made. I bet we all wish that was an option, right? When I was young, I took out loads of student loans with this intention that I would spend the rest of my life paying it off, but dammit I would have that dream job and I would be fine. I wasn't smart and wasn't informed on student loans and how the whole process worked. I went to school, spent my years in school paying off any debt or credit cards I had, because my new debt was going to be my loans when I graduated. Well I graduated into a market that is literally not hiring. I've been fortuante enough to find a job, but the pay isn't that great and I haven't been able to touch my loans. I kept deferring and putting into forebearance, but I still ended up defaulting. Now my life is a nightmare and I don't know how to get afloat. Shortly after I graduated I had a child. I feel like I'm barely home as it is so I can't get a 2nd job. I just feel like such a failure and like such a horrible role model to my child. I messed up bad and wish I could go back and not take out those loans or maybe went to a different school. I've ruined my credit and that of my co-signer and I can't seem to land that dream job I envisioned. I spend so many days stressed about my finances and the calls from creditors that I cannot focus at my job. I feel so foolish and so lost.

Has anyone else found themselves in this situation? Was there any help in salvaging your credit or getting a handle on the finances?

Don't despair. Your situation is not unusual, seriously. My cousin went through the same thing. Have you thought of debt settlement? I know it messes up your credit, but you can get rid of your debt with half of what you owe. You're young and you could probably rebuild your credit over the next 10 or so years.

I did a little google searching and found this website: