Is this normal?

So I need to know if my parents are being reasonable or out of their minds crazy...

They sat me down and told me Im at an age where I need to start thinking about marriage. That I will be over the hill and undesirable in about 3-5 years ( Im currently 25). They then gave me a list of qualities that my husband must have. This is limited to men from out homecountry ( East Africa) and the list was extremley specific ( including being Christian, a lawyer or doctor, cant be more than 5 years older, cant be younger, no history of obseity, diabetes, heart disease, or any kind of mental disorders etc).

I am currently fincancially strapped because of school loans ( about $100,000) and Im a grad student with little in savings. They are using this to their advantage by saying:

If I comply, I will be rewarded: loans paid off, $10,000/yr for 5 yrs, down payment on a house, $25,000 wedding gift, paid wedding and honeymoon.

If I dont, they will not only cut me off financially, but I will no longer be a part of the family. Same goes for my younger sister who is 21 when she becomes "of age".

I was born in Africa but grew up in the US. Im as American as they get, but obviously they are not. So is this normal parenting in ANY culture? are they really as concerned about me finding a good man, or is this more about prestige and impressing their friends? What should I do? take a chance at finding love or going for the money?

I would laugh my parents out of the room.

I'm very much American and my parents have no say in who I date or marry. And, they definitely have no say in when I should marry.

I do not know your parents but if you have a good relationship with them, it's probably them being good natured and looking out for you.

In the end, you're at a weird place. Do you want to be traditional and go your parents route, worry completely about your own choices, or do a mix of both methods? It's ultimately up to you and what makes you happy.