organising work experience and making new contacts

Hi,

I recently graduated from university but I am still a shy, anxious individual so I'm scared of trying to organise work placements by myself. I have an art degree, so work experience placements were not formally organised by the uni (our tutor in our final year said he would try and sort a couple out for us, I kept asking him if he was making any progress, but in the end it fizzled out).

I read everytime that the key is to send out speculative applications and make contacts, but how do you even do that in the first place? Most of the studios in my area that I can easily travel to are quite small companies so don't have specific recruitment pages on their website, just a contact number, how do I approach making that call? Am I just finding out the right person to send my CV to, or should it be a long conversation finding out what entry positions they might have and can I speak to the appropriate person there and then? (The latter is what has been putting me off making the call for so long).

My tutor did give me some names in the industry that I could contact to ask questions about their careers, however they are in the producing side rather than the creative side which wasn't really a career path I'd thought about before. What is the most appropriate way to contact professionals like this? I know they have profiles on Linkedin, I could send them a message that way?

Any insight would be much appreciated

Don't do LinkedIn or anything electronic. That's perceived as a very informal way to contact someone for the first time. You can utilize the information that you find on their websites or LinkedIn in planning an in-person informational interview.