Was this a flirt?

limbo101

My best friend is a guy...but sometimes, not sure if any of the flirting is intentional, just funny, or what...

Today he texted that he's getting sick, which stinks because he has to fly outta town for work this weekend. Anyway, I was giving him tips and he said "I wish you could come and be my personal nurse!"....(I am a nurse)...well it's not like he's deathly ill, just a sore throat and such, so it isn't like it's serious enough to really need a "personal nurse"...We make jokes about sex all the time, even though I don't think it's because we want each other that way - it's just all in fun. So I texted back as JOKE I only charge 1 sexual favor per hour, haha...he didn't respond to that.

So I'm guessing it wasn't supposed to be a flirt?...Why would anyone even say that if it wasn't? His signals can be confusing at times and I hate looking like the idiot in the whole thing; we've already talked about "dating" once, a long time ago, and he wasn't into it, so I try to be careful about how I interpret things on his part. Was it wrong of me to take this in a different context...I mean really! Course I was kidding the whole time, too, but of course sometimes i wish we weren't just joking around. Thanks

I guarantee you he is sexually attracted to you. He just doesn't want to weird you out so he keeps it at an acceptable level. I am sexually attracted to some of my female friends, and if I have a chance to flirt like that without them taking it the wrong way, I do just for fun. I usually don't have that chance though. I suppose you're lucky in that regard.

It was a flirt, but the motivation for it is impossible to read. It could just be a playful flirt, with no further intentions, or it could be a hint.

A reason for flirting like that without any further intentions is he might just be having a bit of fun, or he's looking for an ego boost by gauging your attraction for him.