How to ask someone to mentor you

Lucy__lou

So I feel really awkward around the whole idea of mentoring. I really don't know how it works. If anyone can advise me...

I'm new to the whole professional career thing, and I keep hearing people talk about mentors, and how it can really help to have one, and how if you don't have one, you should get one, or three.

But there seems to be something missing here. How does one approach someone and ask them to mentor you? do you say it outright like that? do you really use the word 'mentor' or do you just sort of ask them lots of questions when you get the chance....

Any more information on the details of how this phenomenon works would be hugely appreciated, as it's not something I'm very familiar with.

IMHO, before you can ask someone to mentor you, it's important to have a relationship with them. It has to be someone you "connect" with on a work level, that shares a similar work ethic, values, or outlook. It can be family, a family friend, a boss or ex-coworker, pretty much anybody. They just have to have experience to be able to advise you how to move forward in your chosen profession. S/he doesn't have to be the president of something to be your mentor. S/he also doesn't have to have a PhD. They should have guts, determination, and a successful track record that you'd like to emulate.

THEN, you ask for help. You express your admiration and ask if s/he is willing to mentor you, or assist you in your career trajectory. You feel out their level of availability and see if it dovetails with the help you need. You assess what it's going to take to "pay them back," or "be on their side" so if they need you for something (pay back time) you are ready willing and able to chip in.

Avoid any potential sexual situations, keep everything on the up-and-up.

That's about all I have to offer! Good luck my dear.