sharing my thoughts on commitmentphobia and perfectionism

mentee

i know there is a great debate on whether "commitmentphobia" actually exists ... i'm not an expert so i'm not going to get into it .. i don't want this post to generate some debate .. i simply want to share something i wrote in my personal journal .. hopefully someone out there will be able to relate and know he/she is not alone in feeling this way.

"when we met, i already told myself i wasn't ready for a relationship .. even though i've dealt with the pain from my last relationship, i still had unresolved issues of failure and loss ..i remember telling [my friend] that i didn't want a relationship for a long while .. i also knew that the worst time to think about a relationship was during interview season and before the match.

i simply wanted to have fun .. meet a lot of people and enjoy my last moments here .. i wasn't serious about him at all when we met ... i remember debating on whether i should return to [the cafe] the day after we met because i wasn't sure if i wanted to run into him again .. i was already panicking about the possibility of dating (and knew i shouldn't be tempting myself when i wasn't ready) .. but my friends told me to go and said i shouldn't lose out on my study spot just because some guy seemed interested in me and might show up there.