Anybody here a writer?

Start writing. Make a schedule, from 8am-10am every day or every week day you write. DO not wait for inspiration. Write. Write every day.

When you have 25 pages of your writing that you like, Apply to grad school for your MFA in creative writing. Or if you are getting your BA find a school that has an intensive undergrad writing program. Bard in New york and Antioch in Los Angeles have good writing programs.

WRITE EVERY DAY. IT'S A JOB. DON'T WAIT FOR INSPIRATION. YOU WILL GET BETTER WITH PRACTICE JUST LIKE IF YOU WERE DANCING OR PAINTING. WRITE EVERY DAY.

I am a writer and it comes naturally to me. I am my best when I'm EXTREMELY sad, hurt, or affected by my surroundings deeply. But I'm working on a novel at the moment and it requires that I am calmed and content when I write (because of the tone I want for it).

Also, if I'm outside, and something captures my attention, the first line comes to my mind, I write it down, and the rest just flows.

That's how it works for me, at least.

One exercise that is useful is daily pages. You open your jotter and write. Even if the only thing you end up putting down on the page is "I have nothing to say." a thousand times. Anything you think of, anything your feeling. It's like journalling but the point is to get you used to writing.

Literally, the only way to write, is to write. The more you write crap, the more you'll staty to write good stuff. You can't learn it from a book. Though reading in general is a good tool for a writer.

While I do not write in the novelist sense, I do write music. If you want to really develop yourself as a writer, you can't always afford to wait for inspiration. Even if that means writing an exercise or some other tool for practice, you are at least getting familiar with the writing process.