celci

So I went and saw an apartment today and fell in LOVE with it. It was everything I had been looking for and very affordable. However, because i am a full time student and living there alone, I cannot live there. I have to have someone who isn't a full time student live with me. However I do not want a roommate.

I tried to say I wasn't a full time student anymore just to see what she would say, and she said I would have to be not a full time student for 5 months. I am freaking out right now, because everything about the apartment is PERFECT and I want to know if there is any way around this. Anything I can do to kind of bulk the system I guess. I know that sounds terrible, but I just can't pass it up.

In a word, no. Honesty is always the best policy. I had roommates until I was in my late twenties. You do what you have to do. If you go against the wishes of the owner, they can do a nasty thing where everywhere you try to rent in the future will know about what you did and you will find it hard to rent anywhere. That will mean moving back home with your parents until quite a few years have passed. Be honest with them and see if you can reach a compromise. Most people are more flexible if you are honest and wave a few bucks at them.

I think thats BS about the 5 month waiting period after you are full time student. If you are a full time student how can you afford a place on your own anyway? Its not just rent, its electric, cable and/or internet, car payment, gas, food, bathroom supplies, etc. If this is your first place then you will need alot of things for the house to make it workable - like silverware, dishes, pots and pans, towels, etc.

Make sure you can really afford this place before you try to con your way into it.