Feeling trapped and discouraged

Hi all,

I've just graduated with an Arts degree (I know, "Well, THATS the problem!") last month, and am franticly trying to find a job. Its been about 4-5 weeks since I started this job search, and have not had a single call-back, interview, or any sign of 'You might be worth giving money too!'.

I'm basically clinically depressed at this point, varying between insomniatic and sleeping 18 hours in one day. I need a job soon, but nobody seems to be interested in hiring me. I kind of feel like this degree was a complete waste of time and worth less than the paper it's written on, but I'm stuck with it now and have to try to find something with it.

Well, I have an Anthropology degree and experience running a dept on campus where I was in charge of 40+ people. I've applied at every 'administrative assistant' posting I've seen, 'receptionist' positions, 'human resources' positions, I've tried applying at archaeological digs, but they need field schools which I don't have.

Thats basically all I've seen that I think I might have a chance with. In the end, though, out of the 30-40 I've applied to, most have responded a few weeks later saying that they "went with a different applicant" and the rest simply never responded at all.

I guess I just feel like 'what was the point in getting that degree if a month after graduating, I'm worse off than before it and still looking for a job?' I mean, the point of getting a degree is to get a job afterwards, which any of my friends who have degrees in engineering, science, etc, have now. Anyone who has my degree: Jobless.

I've considered that, and it may be that I wind up moving in with my dad in Toronto, but from looking on job posting sites, I haven't seen any difference in the types of jobs available in TO, only the amount. If I'm not qualified to work in them here, I figure it's unlikely I'll be able to compete in a larger population base like TO.