Turning a New Leaf?

Third Wheel

I'm still a innocent high school student, but, I'm a little confused. My entire high school career...I tried to be happy, out going, friendly, and always positive. Now, as my senior year is drawing to a close, some people have come up to me saying, in all seriousness (and hopefully good faith) that I seem to upbeat. I was told that I couldn't be taken seriously, and I should think before I talk more often.

I've always been a people pleaser, and now, I see that it isn't working out so well. With some friends, I feel like very natural with, and I've grown close to them over my 4 years at high school. But, with other people, I guess I must act differently, because they see me differently, and treat me differently. So, I've decided to change. I don't know if I can make that decision or not, but I'm going to try. And the first thing I think I need to do is cut off old friendships/bonds, the ones that I think are built on me just trying to be a people pleaser.

(finally on topic)

My "friend" has been with me for 3 years now. At first it was just a school only friendship, and then we started car pooling, and spending hours upon hours with each other. Just us two alone, and I didn't feel awkward at all. And this year, this "friend" even started calling me at random hours to come hang out (which I think of as a plus, because only close friends can call at 2 in the morning and expect an answer). But then, within the last month, everything's changed.