What to do

stephjones

I've never done one of these before, but reading throuhg the rest of them has helped me so far, so i fugured I could maybe get some advice.

My boyfriend and i hae been dating for 5 years - we met in college in my home town, he is from a different state. after we graduated a decided to move up here with him. we didnt live together at first, but i moved in and now we have lived together for about a year and a half, i've been here for about 2 1/2 years now. I do have my own friends separate from him and have a life separate from him, but no family or anything.

well, we had started to have the marrigage talk, most recently i told him that i felt like he wasnt getting any closer, and he needed to think about whether he jsut wasnt ready, or he wasnt ready because he'll never be ready to marry me.

about 3 weeks later, he told me he had been doing a lot of thining and doesnt think we are right for eachother. he is no longer happy, and thinks we'd be better off as just friends. i have my doubts too, so i wasnt completely blown away, but i was hoping we could at least try to work it out. He says he is completely sure and does not think he will change his mind. he is being very nice about the whole thing - he truly cares about me, so i am not mad at him, just sad. i appreciate his honesty, but it still hurts terribly.