We almost broke up, unsure where to go now

Hi everyone,

It's my first time here so I certainly appreciate any advice you can offer. About three months ago my boyfriend and I reconciled. For the most part, it's been great but we have had some issues here and there pop up. In my opinion, it seems our communication is a big problem. We adore each other, have a great time, etc and we do communicate. The problem is our style is so different, which leads to misunderstandings that often lead to frustrating conversations and sometimes arguments.

Today was one of those days. A simple misunderstanding led to a huge fight. I admit that I continued to press the isse when he asked me to let it go for the time being so he could become less frustrated. I didnt and this led him to say that maybe we should not be together. That even though he cares about me so much and wants it to work out, it isn't because of our communication issues. Right now he has an extremely heavy workload and personal things going on and mentioned the relationship was becoming to much to handle.

After some discussion, we decided to keep going and seek ways to learn how to communicate. The problem is I am feeling so rejected now. I mean, am I wrong to stay with someone who wanted to let it go today? As well, I feel like he is so defeated at this point,, like his heart won't be in it. I realize that given the situation he was pretty drained but I am feeling incredibly insecure now. I almost feel like he wants it to work out but is convinced it won't. We kissed good-bye but I could tell he was distant. As it stands, we have decided to not see each other until the weekend, which I think is a good thing. But again, I still worry.

How do couples recover from setbacks like these?

Have you talked about how you each like to communicate? That is very important.