Anxiety/Depressed

brigirl92

I've been feeling extremely anxious/depressed as of late. I used to think maybe depression was just circumstantial for me but it's something I've dealt since I was 12 and I'm 23 now.

I'd say this is the one most depressive stages I've been in. A breakup, not knowing what I want out of life, etc. I graduated college almost a year ago and still unemployed. Not cause I can't find work, I just never feel motivated enough to look. I don't even feel motivated enough to complete basic tasks. Eat, sleep, etc.

It's to the point where anytime my brain is idle I automatically think negative thoughts. I cry multiple times a day without any real reason why. I feel alone a lot. I just contacted a counseling service and I should be able to get an appointment within a week, and I hopeful for that.

I don't have any real questions here, I just got anxious and depressed out of nowhere and needed somewhere get my feelings out. Any advice is welcomed.

Esrly 20s are quite often a time of reflection and change, as you move past being a teenager and into so called adulthood.

It's natural that you'd be feeling low after a break up and with no work on the horizon.

If this has been a problem since your early teens - the depression I mean, then it would be wise to speak to a doctor or a counsellor. Depression can become chronic and it can become a habit You're already seeing this with repetitive negative thoughts and lack of motivation.

Short term meds can really help. They allow you the space to get back into balance, understand what the depression is and then get on with life so you don't feel so unable to move in your life and your thoughts.

If this isn't an option you want to consider, then talk to your family, tell them you're struggling and ask for their help.