It is so frustrating not finding a job and making a living

iwishiknew

I'm 34 and getting old and still I'm not making a living. I can't find a full-time job at all. I graduated with my second Bachelor degree 4 yrs ago in HR Management and Marketing and I have applied to over 1000 plus jobs and still today nothing at all. I have had several interviews and 2nd interviews and nothing. I do not know what to do anymore. I feel like giving up. This is the worse feeling to have inside of me of emptyness. This makes me so weak everday waking up that I don't make a living and going no where in life.

I feel the same way you do. I'm a bit younger (26) but in the same boat. I only have a part-time job and a non-paying internship. I have to constantly ask my family for help and it SUCKS.

Have you thought about seeing a career counselor?

Seeing a career counselor really helped me. I was giving bad interviews, and they helped me improve my performance so I didn't act like a socially awkward clod and actually got the point accross that I have good skills.

I'm only 23, but I know what you mean. I thought that graduating from college was going to be a magic job ticket, but to my disappointment, this wasn't the case. I stalked career finder websites for months on end and got turned down left and right. It seems so silly that even entry level positions require experience. Anyway, I was hired recently at a local middle school to help teach special ed. The pay is abysmal, but it's something.

I'm really surprised that you haven't found anything, considering you have two degrees which sound promising. Maybe it's the area you're in. Would you consider moving? That's one advantage that you have living in the continental US; there should be a lot more opportunities and it should be a bit easier to move around. I live in Hawaii, and unless I'm willing to leave the island, I pretty much have to make do with what is here...not to mention the cost of living.