What will you say to her?

grainsofrice

Note: this is not about dating conversation.

This is about conversation in general.

So, a fellow student notices me several times at a study hall. One day, I happened to run into her and she politely asked to join me. I was happy to welcome her and glad to actually meet her. She wanted to know what I was studying. (i study most of the time, but half of the time-i am just goofing off on the net). Still, it looks as if I am studying.

I didn't want to say much and afraid that I will somehow offend her. So, I said 'i am just studying' LOL then I went in full study mode for non-stop. I basically ignore her entire time.

my Q: 1. what should I have said to her so that she doesn't feel awkward?

2. was I rude to not say a ward after initial greeting and welcome smile for entire 3+ hrs?

3. how should I disclose whatever I am studying to her without sounding conceited? I didn't really want to get into details unless if the person is in the same boat as me.

Previously three different fellows found interest in me, I just simply told what I was doing and what I have done to arrive at my current journey. I got the vibe that they felt offended and they said something about their accomplishment to reaffirm their accomplishment with me.

But, with this person today, I feel that I didn't come off conceited, but I did come off as rude and awkward with little openness.

What I did right? Right before she left, I smiled at her and wished her a good day. She finally smiled back and said 'see you around'. While she was packing up, her facial expression look motion less and didn't look at me. I knew that I might have offended her by ignoring her too long. So, I decided to say bye to her at the very end with a friendly smile.

Let's see if she will join me the next time.

I have met people in the past only because they noticed me and take the first initiation to engage in conversation

Thank you for reading and your input are appreciated.