Told my boss I feel "stuck" in my position (and now I regret it)

I've been working for the same company for almost ten years. I work in finance (I'm an accounting assistant). In 2008, I got my first BA in Communication/English. I applied for jobs in the communication and writing fields again and again, but because of the economy at the time, I got nowhere. About a year after graduation, I sat down with the VP of my department to discuss my goals within the company. When I expressed that I ultimately wanted a job that involved writing and at least a bit of creativity (and there is none of this in finance), I was told that there was nothing within the company that would fit my dream job description and that they could only offer me jobs in the finance department. They did end up giving me a promotion, but it was still in finance and wasn't anything along the lines of what I had told them I wanted in a career. Low and behold, less than six months later, they hired a paid marketing intern--you know, six months after they told me they didn't have anything "creative" they could offer me.