Can't "move forward" in life

MattW

I've been working part time in retail and taking classes at a community college for about four years, now, and honestly, I'm sick of it. I had hoped both of these would just be "transitional" things; as in, I'd do them for a couple years, then move on to a bigger university, and perhaps some kind of entry level job, or internship, or something like that. But, I've seemingly "settled in" to what now feels like an endless cycle.

The problem is, I really truly do not know what I want to do with my life. At all. I'm not good at anything, I have no particular talents or skills, no real interest in anything. I know that I want to do something, but I don't know what. I've been to a career counselor a few times, but it never gets anywhere, because it always comes back to what I want to do, and again, there's nothing specific that I could see myself doing. I've taken career aptitude tests, but the results always indicate that I'd be suited for a field that I already tried taking classes in, and just didn't care much for.

I just can't seem to figure out how to move my life forward. I feel like everyone I know is moving their lives forward, if only little by little, and I'm stuck exactly where I was four years ago. It's not so much that I'm comparing myself to others, but... I just hate being a 23 year old cashier, barely making more than minimum wage, aimlessly floating through community college with no direction.

You should try to look for things that you really like doing - if it's searching for what you could be doing? - Bingo, here's an idea for business, helping others how to decide what to do with their lives.

There are literally unlimited oportunities around, no matter where you are, how old you are, there must be something you really like doing, don't give up searching.

Honestly, I can't think of anything I like doing that's not just a leisure activity.