Medical school issues

Hello!

Basically, I live in the UK and I'm currently in my second year of medical school (out of six). I always thought medicine was what I wanted to do but now I'm starting to question myself. I used to be a really good student - I always did stuff on time, did loads of revision for exams etc - but since I started medical school I've completely lost my drive. I know logically that I need to do work to pass my exams and so I don't fail out but every time I sit down and try to get some work done I just can't focus and I feel really panicky and stressed. As a result of this I'm massively behind. Just looking at my books makes me feel depressed and anxious. I have periods at least once a day when everything just feels too much and I can't stop myself from freaking out and crying, especially when I think about studying or about the future.

The thing is is that I don't know whether medical school just isn't for me and that's the reason I'm feeling like this OR whether it's the external factors (friends, family, flatmates) that are making me feel so low and stopping me from focusing and as a result I'm struggling with uni work.

I also don't really have many medic friends. They tend to really go for the 'work hard, play hard' mentality but I'm not that into clubbing or getting wasted on a regular basis so I've found it hard to get to know other people on my course.

I'm not at a stage in my degree where dropping out is much of an option. I'm two years in and if I drop out now I'll have absolutely nothing to show for it - just loads of student debt, whereas if I wait for a year I can complete my first degree (we do two accross the six years) and then at least I'll have a few more options. I just don't know if I can find the motivation to last it out, and I don't even know if I want to drop out in the first place!