Bored at new job (of 6 weeks); might re-apply to old employer

YabbaDabba

I thought it would take longer than this; I really did. I work in the library field and, very recently, got a new job. A major impetus behind my looking for a new job was because of a co-worker that I didn't want to deal with anymore, but was also because, within my organization, at that point, there was no real upward mobility (unless, of course, I waited for someone to retire).

Anyway.

I got a new job, which was a significant pay increase, but going into it, I worried because it was an entirely different sector of my field, and one that's not really chock-full of variety. Now, six weeks later, I'm beginning to wonder about my choice, and I'm thinking I might've made a mistake. I feel bad even writing that because my new boss is friendly and really encouraging, but, at the same time, I can see, a year down the road, me ripping my hair out because I'm so utterly bored. And, I know that I could be more proactive in seeking out/asking my boss for more tasks, but there honestly aren't many things he could give me to do (I, at this point, because of compartmentalization, know more about my job than he does!), and, to be blunt, I'm not really all that passionate about this branch of my career field, OR this aspect of it.

On top of that, I still have friends at my old job, and when we talk about the old job, I find it difficult to speak of it in past-tense terminology. I'm often having to correct myself from saying "we" to "you guys," since I'm no longer employed there. And, even with all of its flaws, I'm finding that I miss the activity and variety of my old job; I sort of miss the creativity and the dynamic aspect, which I've yet to find in this new job. And, I know it's early on, and I didn't really settle into my old position until about three months in, but I KNOW this new job isn't where I want to be.