Does he mean what he said???

Hi I'm new to this...but i'm tired of hearing the same advice from my friends and need outsiders perspectives.

I'll start from the beginning... basically we started dating when we were seniors in high school. We were really good friends and went to prom together then had the most amazing summer of our lives before we went to separate colleges in the fall. Our freshman year of college he hated his school but did really well with academics while I was suffering with an unbearable roommate and had really bed grades at a bigger university. I became diagnosed with depression in the spring and i really leaned on him because I didn't really have many friends at school yet. This caused a lot of fights becuase i was becoming really needy and dependent. I was emotionally unstable until I started taking medication. But then when the summer came around i took myself off of the medicine because I figured it was seasonal. The change caused me to be a little crazy for awhile but even though we fought sometimes we really had fun and fell even more in love. He told my dad he was going to marry me in august. (btw you don't tell my dad that unless you want to marry me or be killed, he's the football coach at our high school and im his only girl in a house full of boys and he was at one point a propect NFL lineman so he's a pretty scary ma