Just another college grad looking for a job.

Firiel

I graduated from college this past May. I graduated with honors and was even given the honor of being the literature student of the year from the English department. I was, of course, full of hopes and dreams, and then reality hit.

After working two dead-end part-time jobs for a few months, I'm aching to do something I care about. I really want to end up in the publishing industry as an editor. However, I'm not living in a very humanities-friendly environment, and I really don't know where to look for jobs besides craigslist, monster, and newspaper ads. None of these have yielded any results, and moving isn't an option for at least a year and a half.

My current plan is to just take my resume and bring it personally to a ton of different businesses that offer either chances for advancement or an improvement of my resume. These are my current ideas:

1. Newspapers (wrote for the school newspaper one year in college)

2. The local art and history museums (I interned for a semester at a museum)

3. The only local publilshing company

4. Libraries (I know many library jobs require a masters in library science, but I'm not sure if all jobs they offer do... does anyone know?)

Is there anything I can do besides this? And does this sound like a good idea at all? I'm getting so frustrated with my job hunting.