Mental Problems

Growing up, I always knew I was a little "slow." My mother would always get mad at me saying I was just lazy when I'd forget something all the time, or be unable to finish schoolwork. When I graduated, I attempted college, but realized after 2 weeks that there was no way I'd be successful.

For the last 9 years since then I have labeled myself "too stupid" for college. I also have major problems remembering bills, work tasks, things I need to bring with me. I'm completely fed up with it. I know inside that I am an intelligent person, but I need some sort of resources for getting my brain working again. Any advice?](*,)

Go to a professional and see is you have A.D.D. or some other learning dissability--there's no reason for you to feel this way and not know why!

BTW A.D.D. ppl usually have a VERY high I.Q.--my son was diagnosed in second grade cos he had all the same issues you are mentioning--when they tested to see what his dissability was they also found out he was "gifted"--of course you'd never know that by looking at his report cards! lol MOF it took him until 11th grade & after working, for years, to learn how to organize, etc to raise his grades--he's now on honor role

Keep asking questions till you get the right answers for you!

Don't beat yourself up, everyone has their method of learning. I'm a big problem with forgetting things (ADD) so incorporating list of daily tasks and carrying reminders is a must for me. Do you have any sort of fixed schedules and routines as well as reminders that will help you to remember things? Even if you don't learn things the first time, repetition is usually the key.

Have you looked into counseling to see which area you may need help in? They may be able to better guide you with a system tailored to your needs for an improvement. Ask your healthcare professional for a referral to see who can look into the issue.