New conversation practice technique!

mfan

A common worry on ENotAlone is that we don’t have enough to converse about and don’t really know how to turn a brief chat into a conversation.

I thought of a great way to practice our conversation skills. Basically, you find any blog, speech, or news commentary, and read it or listen to it, and as you read it or listen to it, think of as many follow-up questions as possible that you could be asking if this were a live conversation. Here's an example of what I mean.

This is an excerpt from the following blog, which I selected at random

link removed

I finally picked up Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything Your American History Textbook Got Wrong (an earlier edition than the one pictured above), which has been sitting on my shelf for years. As a writer, I haven’t been reading enough non-fiction. So I started a non-fiction read that I can really get into.

Loewen’s thesis is that the way history is taught is too loaded down with factoids, not built up enough with drama— I know that my high-school history was taught that way. I hated it. It wasn’t until years after I graduated high school that I began to discover history, because history is full of drama. Never are our historical figures as one-dimensional as we try to make them appear. They are never pure “heroes” or “villains,” but rather deep, realistic characters, full of conflict. And Loewen delves deep into those conflicts.

Annotated with every possible follow-up question and conversation topic

I finally picked up Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything Your American History Textbook Got Wrong

--I haven’t heard about that book - tell me about it!

(an earlier edition than the one pictured above), which has been sitting on my shelf for years.

--What other books would you like to read if you have time?