Do you love your career?

I am 23. Growing up I had a lot of encouragement that I could do whatever I wanted to do (although I always knew my parents wanted me to be a nurse). Either way, I was always told that if I go to university, get a good education, I will inevitably find my dream job that will lead to a passionate life with financial stability. Well, as an adult I find this has been a huge misconception…I had so many choices that I never chose. I got a Psych degree and a “good” government job, but it’s not very stimulating. I work in a small office all day long with minimal human interaction. I find it very lonely, and I really prefer working in a team environment. And the pay is average.

Anyway, I still dream of finding that dream career that will consume with interest and passion. I am a workaholic by nature, so this government M-F 8:30-4:30 seems quite foreign to me…(I recently picked up a weekend job at the Human Society – yay!)

Do you like your job? What is it? What were some of your best jobs? Any advice?

Thanks!

I love variety and I'm definitely not a career person. It's taken me some years to come to accept this. I doubt my extended family will ever accept it either unless I make a lot of money on one of my independent ventures. For the most part, I work low paying jobs that change every year, and they often have little to do with each other. For a single guy with no immediate family responsibilities, it works fine for me. But I do want more... so much more. And it's exactly for that reason that I won't take the career track.

You have to do what you love. You have to put your heart into what makes you happy. I know such idealism is often preached against deaf ears to those with spouses and children, and that is understandable, but I believe every person can find a way to make at least a little time to work at something they love.