Combatting procrastination?

I am the worst procrastinator ever. And it is seriously affecting me and I am very stressed.

I am in my final year of university and I have a lot of work to get done. I cannot start it and I don't know why. I don't know if it's because I am anxious about the work or have other underlying things preventing me, but I just can't begin the work. I am so frustrated and upset with myself - I am so upset because I know the work is due in a couple of days but even with that information in mind I STILL can't get started.

Does anybody know how to combat this kind of procrastination?

I'm struggling with this problem as well...

along with mono I'm on the verge of not completing my final semester at university..and ultimately not getting my degree.

So, I too am interested what people might have to say to this and hopefully can make some helpful suggestions

Hi AJEDrew7,

I had mono a few years ago and had to defer the last part of my degree as I was in hospital for a few weeks so I know how you feel. Ultimately your health comes first though.

Hopefully someone can share some tips on combatting this procrastination I'm experiencing...

It's scary! It's also ALMOST EVERYBODY at Uni!

I could NEVER finish essays until 3am the day they were due in, with biscuit packets strewn around. Despite having done all the research over the previous month or more.

A few thoughts - first, this might be coming from feelings of ambivalence about the course. Perhaps you really deep down wish you weren't on it - but you are. See this as a great opportunity to practise 'getting on with stuff I'd really rather not be doing' which is great skill for fullly-fledged adult life!

One thing which I didn't learn till years later and wish I had, is this:

People fall into two groups.

1) Motivated by pain.

2) Motivated by pleasure.