Resilience

Hermes

It bothers me when these psychologists talk about how one needs a 'loving, stable family' as a strong precursor to mental health without crediting how a difficult upbringing can make you that much stronger. In my personal experience, many of these kids who grew up in stable, loving homes are actually sheltered and when presented with difficulties, they are the first to fold, to cry to their moms and dads. Those traits are hardly 'resilient'. I'm currently a college student and am one of the few that actually know how to live on my own, pay my own bills and over-come various 'blocks in life'. I'm one of the fews that go to school full-time, get good grades, have a part-time job and take care of things at home. Most kids from these stable homes aren't even working since there's no need and if they do work, it's mainly so they can buy an ps3 or whatever, not to pay for the electric bill. They spend more of their time with friends and pretty much enjoying life and never mind about taking care of someone else, they can barely take care of themselves.

I don't think these studies take into account of the fact that people who don't have a stable family have MORE difficulties in life and therefore, more stress while having less stress relieving outlets and less time to recoup. I would venture to say that we are more than resilient, we've made it this far dealing with stress most people coming from a stable family don't even know exist. When you're dealing with so many things, of course you're going to be spread thin... but that doesn't mean we're less resilient. In fact, that makes us that much more resilient.