College Transcript with not so good grades

AJEDrew7

So, I graduate college in May. Well, if my depression and concentrations problems don't get in the way (which they have been). Anyways, that's besides the point. I'm going for more schooling after, but I was just curious...How much does getting bad grades effect your chances of getting a job (especially with the economy the way it is) ? Like, I've gotten probably 4 D's over my college career and my GPA isn't very high (Like 2.7 on a 4 scale I think)...but only a 2.3 for my major. I'm an engineering major so its not the easiest. Thoughts...?

I know for an engineering major they want you to get really good grades.

I'm kind of in the same boat as you though...

I have ADHD and learning difficulties in math so thats always held me back.

I am in my 2nd year right now, have a 2.50 over all (time to bring it up though!)

But I fell below a 2.0 last semester so I really have to get my act together this semester.

And it's ALL because of math, I wish I could find something to fix this problem=/

I think the main importance of it though is that you GET a degree.

I would like to get my gpa to a 3.0, it needs to be around that for the FBI.

I mean, I'm going to more school to specialize more and get another degree but I was hoping to get a job that would pay for further schooling. I know I need to do well there so that a future employer may not weigh so much on my bad grades now. Especially since you can't tell your employer "Oh, I had concentration and depression problems while I was in school that's why I did so bad". That doesn't exactly cut it.

My boyfriend is in engineering too and doesn't have stellar grades. Fortunately, his program included co-op. And all his co-ops LOVED him. If one of his co-ops don't hire him after graduation, he can at least use them as great references.