I introduced my Best friend to her new Best friend, and I'm jealous!

growlbury

Hi!

I am a college student, and last year as a freshman I struggled a lot to make friends, but after a month of 2 I met the best friend of my life and have been friends with her ever since. This year, my best friend and I live in singles next door to each other, but down the hall lives a girl with whom I went to high school and did not particularly get along with. I do not dislike her in any strong way, but after 4 years of high school we never became close friends, and I do not see that changing now...we just don't click like friends do. Last year, my best friend had a class with her and I introduced them informally, and they talked a few times during class but never made any efforts to see each other outside of class. But because they "knew" each other last year, my best friend is now hanging out with this girl all the time! My friend is extremely outgoing and likeable, and whenever I introduce her to someone she immediately gets along very well with them...it is a rare quality that she has. But my friend told me that she has trouble meeting people unless she meets them through one of her friends. Well, this is exactly what I have provided her with the girl down the hall. The problem is that while my best friend seems to make friends through her own friends, my weak spot is that I get jealous very easily when a friend that I have worked so hard to make is able to get along with one of my friends/aquaintances in an instant. I am kicking myself because I now regret ever introducing them. It takes me a very very long time to make friends, and when I do find a friend I cherish them. Even though I know it sounds crazy, I hate that I made this friendship so easy for them. I really wanted college to be distinct and separate from high school, and now that "high school" lives right down the hall and is always there when I am with my best friend, I can't seem to leave the past behind me, and a